I Got the Perfect Job -Thanks to YOU!

YOU are Jan Stafford, of TechTarget, willing to take a chance on a candidate without a journalism background, offering me an opportunity at SSQ which would allow me to pursue my passions: writing, social media, and  software dev & QA. What could be more perfect than that?

YOU are Matthew Heusser, a recognized QA leader who took enough interest in my blog and my background to recommend me for this job. Without that generosity, I never would have known about this opportunity.

YOU are the many industry professionals that blog and write and share your knowledge freely with people like me.  You never judge me for asking questions and regardless of your status or importance, you treat me as an equal.  Because of you, I had the knowledge and confidence I needed to get this job.

YOU are the people who take the time to write comments, ReTweet, engage, and encourage me as I’ve been on this journey to learn and grow.  It’s because of you that I became somewhat obsessive about social media! (OK, maybe not ALWAYS a good thing!)

YOU are my fellow job-seekers…always ready to share leads and advice and stay positive, no matter what disappointments or fears you were facing yourself. It was in talking to you that I learned the value of community. Your strength inspires me.

YOU are my friends who never gave up on me. You continued to treat me with as much respect and confidence in my skills as you always have, regardless of my unemployment status. You treated me to lunches, listened to my ideas, and supported my efforts. You made me feel valued.

YOU are my neighbors who so generously gave frequent flyer miles so that my son and I could fly to  Sacramento to be with my father as he was undergoing life-threatening cancer surgery.  Because of you, I was able to focus on the people who matter most to me.

YOU are my family who listened and always had faith in me. Whatever problem I’m dealing with, you are there.

YOU are my son who instead of complaining about what we could no longer afford, offered to help pay for expenses with your own hard-earned money.  Even though you are only 15 years old, you are the person who I most admire in the entire world.  You motivated me to find a job that would allow me to work from home so that I could be there for you in these last few years before you fly the coup.

YOU are God, who answered my prayers. Even though I know there are a lot of more serious problems out there for You to deal with, You gave me exactly what I asked for.

~~~~

I start a job at TechTarget as an editor for SearchSoftwareQuality on Monday.  I couldn’t be more thrilled.   All is right with the YOUniverse!

Thank YOU!

15 thoughts on “I Got the Perfect Job -Thanks to YOU!

    1. Lisa, you are one of those industry experts who always finds time for a kind word. YOU are a definite person to follow and learn from…not just because of your vast knowledge of QA and Agile Testing, but because of how respectfully you treat others.

    1. Chris, you and your writing-about-testing network was instrumental in leading me down this path. Thank you for accepting me in the group and introducing me to so many great minds!

  1. Congratulations! I have been following you from the time you included my blog (now re-christened as techmanageronline) in your blogroll 🙂 Thanks and it is truly wonderful to hear this good news. Wishing you the very best in your future endeavors.

  2. That’s wonderful news Yvette. I am so glad you continued to believe in your worth and ability during the “desert” time. You knew you had some unique skills, experience and aptitude and kept pressing on. Good for you, and good for Scotty. Blessings,
    Mark

Leave a comment