jump to navigation

Weekend Testers December 2, 2009

Posted by yvettefrancino in Management, QA.
trackback

This morning I checked out this StickyMinds article suggesting a couple of ways testers could do some professional development.  The first half of the article was about a Toronto weekend conference.  Though that wouldn’t work for me, there were some ideas about how to facilitate a similar weekend conference, so it did get my wheels spinning some about trying to organize something in Denver at some point.

The second half of the article talked about a group called Weekend Testers based out of Bangalore. I spent a little time exploring their site.  It looks like they have a challenge from James Bach coming up on Dec.5 that I was tempted to join.  Most of their testing occurs in the middle of the day Bangalore time, though, and that is the middle of the night for me.  I think I’ll just lurk on the sidelines for awhile.

I do think this is a very interesting idea, though, started by a group of friends that wanted to use their exploratory testing skills and test some Open Source tools.  One of those founders is  Ajay Balamuragadas.  I have seen his name pop up a lot lately including on The Software Testing Club and on the Writing About Testing SocialText site.

Next I checked out the uTest blog and saw that Ajay was mentioned yet again as an up-and-coming blogger, by Matt Heusser.  Funny how you keep running into the same names in these different blogs and communities.

Anyway, this Weekend Tester idea is intriguing as another form of what I’m starting to think of as “social testing” and it got me thinking…  There are a lot of us unemployed QA people roaming around the internet.   With all the technology that’s available, working remotely is not a problem — maybe I could create my own virtual test team….   It would be a win for the client because he wouldn’t have to provide office space and a win for all of us QA people because we’d have a job without the commute.  And I really think strong collaboration is very do-able thanks to all the tools and technologies that are available today.  Now, I just need a strong business development person to go find me some clients and we’ll be in business!

Comments»

1. Ajay Balamurugadas - December 5, 2009

Thanks for your appreciation Yvette 🙂

“Weekend Testing” indeed acts as one of the platforms for freshers, testers who took a break and to all the testers who want to sharpen their testing skills.

Social Testing !!! – Interesting…

Regards,
Ajay Balamurugadas


Leave a Reply

