jump to navigation

Which QA Books Are On Your Wish List? December 1, 2009

Posted by yvettefrancino in Uncategorized.
trackback

It’s Christmas season and we’re all passing around our wish lists.  I just finished doing a bunch of shopping at Barnes & Noble and Amazon.com — gotta love that free shipping.  While I was out there, I did a fair amount of browsing for my own wish list.  I just love books! Libraries, bookstores, or online stores — I can spend hours browsing, always finding so many books I want to read.  Of course, after I bring them home, it seems like I never have time to read them.  I have shelves of books I’ve barely read, yet…  I want more! (What can I say?  When it comes to books, I’m greedy.)

Of course, I looked at the choices at Amazon and B&N to see what they had in Software Test & QA.  I also had a couple of book lists that I’d noted in my “All Things QA file”

There’s this book list from the softwareqatest site.  And then earlier this month, I found Joe Strazzere’s book list from The Software Testing Club site. I’m interested in checking out Jerry Weinberg’s “Weinberg on Writing.”  It sounds like that’s more about writing than QA, but all of Weinberg’s books look interesting and I’ve seen them recommended on the Writing About Testing site.  There’s also Beautiful Testing, of course — I already got a flavor of that and liked it. I’ve been eying Agile Testing by Lisa Crispin and Janet Gregory as well…

So many books, it’s hard to choose.  I guess I’ll just have to leave it up to Santa.  Is there a book on your wish list this holiday season?

Comments»

1. Tony Bruce - December 1, 2009

After reading your post, I decided to check my list. I didn’t realise how long it was!! I’ve stopped getting books until I’ve read the ones I’ve already got. On my wishlist are:
Scrum and XP from the Trenches (Enterprise Software Development)
Everyday Scripting with Ruby: For Teams, Testers, and You
Test Driven Development (The Addison-Wesley Signature Series)
The Art of Unit Testing: with Examples in .NET
Test Driven .Net Development With FitNesse
Testing ASP.NET Web Applications (Wrox Programmer to Programmer)
Mastering the Requirements Process
A Pragmatic Guide to Business Process Modelling
The Business Analyst’s Handbook
Product Image
Writing Better Requirements
Business Process Management: A Rigorous Approach
Writing Effective Use Cases (Crystal Series for Software Development)
Implementing Lean Software Development: From Concept to Cash (Addison-Wesley Signature)
Beautiful Security: Leading Security Experts Explain How They Think
Business Analysis
Product Image
Lean Software Development: An Agile Toolkit
The Art of Agile Development
Agile Software Development with SCRUM
Beautiful Data: The Stories Behind Elegant Data Solutions
Product Image
Beautiful Testing: Leading Professionals Reveal How They Improve Software
Agile Project Management with Scrum (Microsoft Professional)
Product Image
Agile Retrospectives: Making Good Teams Great (Pragmatic Programmers)
Agile Estimating and Planning (Robert C. Martin)
Product Image
User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Addison Wesley Signature Series)
Agile Coaching
Implementing Automated Software Testing: How to Save Time and Lower Costs While Raising Quality: How to Lower Costs While Raising Quality
Telling Stories: A Short Path to Writing Better Software Requirements
Don’t Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability
Good to Great: Why Some Companies Make the Leap… and Others Don’t
Pragmatic Thinking and Learning: Refactor Your Wetware (Pragmatic Programmers)
Product Image
The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Leadership Fable (JB Lencioni Series)
The Mythical Man Month and Other Essays on Software Engineering
Product Image
Introduction to the Design and Analysis of Algorithms
Peopleware: Productive Projects and Teams
Product Image
Peopleware: Productive Projects and Teams
Code: The Hidden Language 2nd Edition (DV-Undefined)
Product Image
An Introduction to System Analysis Techniques, 2nd Ed.
Critical Testing Processes: Plan, Prepare, Perform, Perfect
Product Image
Requirements by Collaboration: Workshops for Defining Needs
Testing Web Security: Assessing the Security of Web Sites and Applications
How to Break Web Software: Functional and Security Testing of Web Applications and Web Services

yvettefrancino - December 1, 2009

Oh my goodness, Tony! You do have a long list! If shipping weren’t so expensive, we could have a book exchange! I also was thinking a Kindle would be a good investment… Do you know if people are able to share or exchange books they purchase via a Kindle?

In any case, it looks like there are plenty of good books to choose from!


Leave a Reply

