jump to navigation

Agile in Action – User Stories November 24, 2009

Posted by yvettefrancino in QA.
trackback

Agile Development is all the rage these days, so I’m doing whatever I can to learn it.   There are all kinds of white papers and information, and it all looks pretty straight-forward to me.   Of course, employers all want experience, so I’m volunteering at SnapImpact, a non-profit group that created an iPhone app for volunteerism.  That’s me in the corner with the purple shirt, looking all Boulder-techie and Agile, hoping some employer will see me and say: We must have HER!

I want to create something like “Agile in Plain English” (I love those “in Plain English” little videos put on by commoncraft.)  First I’d start with “User Stories in Plain English.”

User stories are a simplified way of describing user requirements, basically following the format of

As a ___
I want to ___
So that ___

These “user stories” describe WHAT the user wants…not HOW it will be done.  At SnapImpact, we  came up with several user stories from different types of users.  Here are a couple examples of non-profit user stories:

As a nonprofit
I want to make people aware of our opportunities
So that people will volunteer and show up

As a nonprofit
I want to show our good/promote our accomplishments
so that we will get funding

I’m tempted to write a big long commentary about the importance of requirements gathering and then do something witty like creating a requirements document for my life, but I will save that for another day and time.  For now, here’s an article that describes user stories vs. use cases.

And now:

As a person
I want to eat breakfast
so that I’m not hungry

//

Comments»

1. Dave - November 24, 2009

Stay away from the light…do not go into the light.

P.S. – And don’t drink the grape kool-aid

yvettefrancino - November 25, 2009

Dave, you Agile-Hater, are you implying I’m a cult-follower? I like to think of myself as open-minded. I think Agile definitely has it’s benefits, though I’m OK with any methodology as long as the team is following *some*methodology. My big thing is that Dev/Test/Business all act as a team and since that’s stressed more in Agile Methodologies, it gets a thumbs up from me.

Not only that but…

As a job-seeker I want to get Agile experience So employers will hire me

2. Tony Bruce - November 25, 2009

As a reader
I want to thank you
So that you continue blogging.

Ahhh see what I did there!!!??! 😀

yvettefrancino - November 25, 2009

Tony, that’s the best user story I’ve seen! 🙂

3. The Secret of Agile Speed « New World Software Quality Assurance - February 5, 2010

[…] Secret of Agile Speed November 25, 2009 Posted by yvettefrancino in QA. trackback Yesterday, I blogged that I wanted to create a “Agile in Plain English”-type of video.  As is typical when I have an idea, when I search the internet, I find it’s […]


Leave a Reply

