jump to navigation

Validating HTML – W3C Markup Validation Service October 30, 2009

Posted by yvettefrancino in Uncategorized.
trackback

W3CMarkupI’ve never done much Web development. I know some HTML, of course, but whenever I’ve built a Website, I’ve used an IDE and standard templates and voila! My Website was done. There never seemed much point in learning the rest. My inner geek is embarrassed to admit this, but remember, I’ve been a manager for 10 years and haven’t been playing in code.   So now, I’m taking the opportunity to catch up to the rest of the world and try and learn everything. It’s fun! My find of the day has been W3Schools along with the W3C Markup Validation Service Tool.

When I’m learning something  I like to Start at the Very Beginning. A Very Good Place to Start. (I’m tempted to break into the rest of Do-Re-Mi here, but I’ll resist.)   W3Schools has been a great resource for pulling together for me all the technologies and how they fit together.  And the fact that I’ve been exposed to a lot of this and dabbled here and there has made it very easy for me to whiz through a lot of this, knowing where I can now find a reference.  I highly recommend this site for anyone new to Web Development. Or even if you know some of it and just want a refresher, take a look.  Sometimes it’s good to just go back to the Do-Re-Mi basics, even if you’re a Rock Star.

For example, I never really knew how XHTML differed from HTML.  So, I read up about the additional rigidity in syntax checking and also learned about the different Doctypes and versions of HTML.  One of the tools that was available off of the W3Schools site was a W3C Markup Validation Service Tool.  I would venture to guess that the first thing you might want to do when testing a Website would be to validate the HTML and this tool is very handy for doing just that! If the HTML has errors it is apt to create some flaky behavior down the line, so probably the first order of business would be to run the URL through the tool. I tried this with a few different sites and got some interesting results.  Many commercial Websites had quite a few errors. I’m happy to report however, that https://yvettefrancino.wordpress.com was successfully checked as XHTML 1.0 Transitional!

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Comments»

1. Patrick Geiger - October 30, 2009

I have also found W3 Schools to be a very good website. Its always informational and helps me understand the basics before becoming advanced!

yvettefrancino - October 30, 2009

Hey Patrick! Thanks for your comment! Great to see you out here on my QA Blog!

2. Kathy - November 13, 2009

Yvette, you are such a creative, beautiful brainiac geek! We love you, your Fisher family.

yvettefrancino - November 13, 2009

Kathy, you’re funny. What are you doing over here on my geeky blog? You need to come join my Laptop Dancer Diaries FaceBook Fan Pagewhich has less geek and more relationship-challenged content… (Come to think of it…I guess those are sort of the same thing!) I love you, too, my inspirational Fisher-Friend!

3. Kathy - November 13, 2009

Yvette, you beautiful brainiac geek! We love you, your Fisher Family.


Leave a Reply

