jump to navigation

Software Quality Certification Comparisons and WordPress Comments October 13, 2009

Posted by yvettefrancino in QA.
Tags: ,
trackback

First I want to say that I just found a bunch of GREAT comments to my blog that had been marked as “spam” by WordPress.  Oh dear! I would definitely have responded to all of you if I’d known about your comments! Thank you so much for taking the time to send your thoughts and encouragement!  I think whenever there is a web address in a comment, WordPress marks it as spam. I’m going to have to investigate this further and I’ll get back to each of you, but today’s a busy day…

First I’m going to Colorado Workforce Orientation meeting about a program where the government will pay up to $5K of educational dollars to help those of us that are unemployed, get a job.  That’s the reason I’ve been exploring these certifications.  Yesterday, after I posted about the different software quality certifications, I found a recent post from a Alejandro Ramirez who had created a spreadsheet comparing them. How perfect!

Apparently, in order to be approved for any money, I’m going to have to gather a lot of data (government…you know…they like lots of data) to show that getting the certification will make the difference in getting a job.

Personally, I’m of the mindset that it’s not the certification that’s important, it’s the knowledge.  I’m all for self-study and I don’t really need to take a test to prove to myself that I know the stuff.  However, I can see that for an employer with two qualified candidates, the scales might be tipped towards the one with the certification. Also, just studying for the certification should help me in interviews because I’ll be up-to-date on the industry best practices, standards, terminology, etc.  I just want to be sure and find a certification that keeps their BoK updated with the latest trends.  I got a recommendation yesterday for going with an ASQ certification since they are a non-profit organization and do keep up-to-date. (I’m thinking this is probably true with some of the others, too, so I will have to explore this some more.) I also like that they allow self-study and have sample tests. But their exams are only in October and March, and I really didn’t want to have to wait all the way until March! I was hoping I could just do a crash course (self-study), take the exam, and be certified!  I still have some homework to do on the differences and which of these are most recognized in the industry, but at the very least, I’d like to get one of the study guides so that I at least make sure I have the latest, greatest knowledge, if not the actual certification.

I’ll just end with my usual plug for social media…  In my opinion, the best way to have the latest, greatest knowledge is by using the Web and networking with people like you — those of you that are in the industry and have the true life knowledge and experiences.  I have found SO many great resources that I think are  probably  more valuable than any BoK or Certification because they are real life experiences about what’s happening today!   I may even start writing my own book — only problem would be that by the time I wrote it, it would be out of date…

Comments»

1. Polprav - October 16, 2009

Hello from Russia!
Can I quote a post in your blog with the link to you?

yvettefrancino - October 17, 2009

Sure! That would be cool!


Leave a Reply

