jump to navigation

QA Management Interview Questions & Bickering Bloggers October 1, 2009

Posted by yvettefrancino in Management.
trackback

This morning I have an interview for a QA Manager position! Yay!  I found this site with a lot of good sample interview questions and answers; However I wanted to find Q&As specifically for a QA Manager. I kept searching and came across an article called:

Software testing interview questions Test manager Part I

I read through it quickly, as I often do when I’m cybersurfing. There were only four questions and I didn’t think the answers were necessarily stellar but I understand… they weren’t meant to be the definitive “right” answers…just this guy’s opinion.

Then I noticed there were 31 comments, so I read the first one from a guy named Pradeep, who prefaced his criticism of the answers given with:

In my opinion, the answers lack critical thinking, questioning and knowledge of software.

This started what I always refer to as a “bicker war” where there is public arguing with various levels of name-calling, defensiveness, and basically immature behavior.  So, of course, I became much more interested in the drama of the comment stream than in prepping for my upcoming interview.  I was particularly intrigued by this comment by Beena who is defending Vijay, the original author:

Hello Pradeep,
Vijay s just giving an idea for the ppl, who r new 2 this testing field. If u r interested read it, otherwise just give him good suggestion 2 make it more interesting.
“I am not sure where you collected these questions and whose answers are these.” u should not say these words,
if u really want to tel somthing u should say it in rude manner. U should b polite, like “In my opinion, the answers lack critical thinking…..”
Otherwise y? don’t u start ur own Blog…………?
This s my suggestion 2 u…
‘DOOSRE INSAAN PE UNGLI MAT UTHAOO’

Now this whole “discussion” is over a year old and hopefully Vijay, Pradeep, Beena, and the rest of the bickering bloggers have moved on. (And let’s hope  Beena learned how to use a good a spell-checker.   I don’t know what that last bit is all about, but it looks a like it has a couple of insane and ugly words.)

The point of all this (besides the entertainment factor) is that it is really easy for people to get defensive when criticized.  Or we get defensive for our friends. And then we criticize the original criticizer and before you know it, everything gets INSAAN!

When testers find bugs this can make developers cranky.  Having been a former developer, I can tell you that we are breed that often has a big ego. We can feel very protective of our perfect code. It is especially maddening when a tester will be all happy and proud about finding a defect that we view as perfectly acceptable behavior.  There are a lot of reasons that developers and testers can have a contentious relationship but I think most of it has to do with ego.  The way we communicate with each other is so important. Be respectful, be mature, and…. if you disagree, y don’t u start ur own Blog……?

Comments»

1. shaun sayers - October 1, 2009

I am always exasperated whenever I encounter these “bicker wars”. I contribute to the the Tripadvisor forum now and again – offering advice when people ask for it about places I am familiar with. Opinions invite disagreement, of course, but why some people can’t offer a counter opinion without slinging insults baffles me

I saw a Government report a little while ago that suggested young people are failing to develop appropriate social and life skills because they are increasingly interacting remotely in this way, and I can see how this can cause significant harm

I would never dream of launching a personal attack on a complete stranger over a difference of opinion of this type. More to the point I also believe that those people who have thrown insults my way in the course of forum discussion would have thought twice had it been face to face. I am 6 feet tall and 15.5 stones

My point is that (for most people) face to face interaction moderates the behaviour of both parties (assuming neither particularly wants to be smacked in the mouth) and this has evolved over time into some quite effective and valuable systems of etiquette and manners. As the threat of physical retribution is removed (as it is in an on line forum) it certainly seems (for some) that the requirement for mutual respect can be happily ignored

So yeah, I agree, bizarre isn’t it?

yvettefrancino - October 1, 2009

Yes, Shaun, it is bizarre. I know a lot of people seem to act more rudely online because of some sort of misconceived feeling of anonymity. However, when you act rudely online, you are showing this unattractive behavior to the whole world. Though there may not be any physical threat, I think people are learning that disrespectful behavior will damage their reputation and credibility.

2. Tony Bruce - October 1, 2009

Can’t speak for the rest of them but Pradeep does have his own blog http://testertested.blogspot.com/

3. Tony Bruce - October 1, 2009

And I forgot to say. Good luck!

4. Hoshedar Daboo - October 8, 2009

I would like to comment on the phrase, ‘DOOSRE INSAAN PE UNGLI MAT UTHAOO’. It means “DO NOT POINT FIGURES AT OTHER PEOPLE” and its proper Hindi. 🙂 (One more example of not using a common medium of communication on an open forum/blog).

Also, You are absolutely correct in pointing out that “It is especially maddening when a tester will be all happy and proud about finding a defect that we view as perfectly acceptable behavior.” – I agree with this point even though i am a Tester. The only point that seems to have been missed out here is that it might be a perfectly acceptable behavior, but one which does not match with the “Requirements Document” which the Tester is referring to. It happens all the times.

Most of the problems/obstacles/hurdles/egos could be done away with, if both the Developer and the Tester work together in a Symbiosis for the betterment of the application.

yvettefrancino - October 8, 2009

Hi Hoshedar, Thank you for the translation!

I was being a little sarcastic with my comment about testers, pointing out that developers have egos and are used to claiming bugs are “user errors.” I remember when I was a developer… when a tester would tell me the code would break if they did such and such, and then I’d jokingly say: “Then don’t do that!” And you’re right…if the code doesn’t behave has the requirements doc states, there is a defect… it might be with the requirements, but still should be corrected!

But, in the end, it’s all about working nicely together and making sure you DOOSRE INSAAN PE UNGLI MAT UTHAOO. 😉

Thanks for your comments!

5. Derek Moser - October 15, 2009

I have never seen bickering or name calling or even anything that would suggest threatening behaviour ever. You folks must not work in professional environments. Having a difference of opinion is actually allowed in the USA and is protected by the 1st Amendment of our Constitution. You need to work in an environment where the vision of the future or project is known and delivered by good leaders. In that environment everyone works to reach a common goal to deliver the best product to the customer. There is never bickering in that instance as the best solution is always presented.

yvettefrancino - October 15, 2009

Hi Derek,
Thanks for your comment.

I wouldn’t consider this example of bickering “threatening”… just kind of immature. I think having a difference of opinion is a good thing, though it would be better if it were stated respectfully. I’ve seen plenty of what I call “bicker wars” in the US. It’s prevalent all over the internet! I think it probably has to do with this means of communication … people may misunderstand or misinterpret a comment and take it as a personal attack and get defensive, which then will start this public bickering.

As you say, the goal is to deliver the best product to the customer, so, hopefully we can all put egos aside and work together to do that.


Leave a Reply

