jump to navigation

Resources for the QA Professional September 21, 2009

Posted by yvettefrancino in Management, QA, Social Media.
Tags:
trackback

trinity-college-library-dub

One thing that amazes me is that we have this virtually infinite source of information available to us through the Web — this humongous library with up-to-date information. And it’s not just eBooks and articles and blogs that we have access to — it’s people! Experts in any topic under the sun.  I think it’s the coolest thing that we can read a book or an article, and then turn around and connect with the author via one of the social networking sites. We might even get to know this wise sage “in real life!”

How do you get started forming a network or community? First you find out what’s already out there! I’m already a member of some LinkedIn groups related to Software Quality Assurance.  You can also find QA professionals on FaceBook, Twitter, and, of course, all over the blogosphere.

So, today, in my zest to get started with my new QA-related blog, I did an initial search to find blogs, articles, forums, and people who I could connect with and learn from.  Since I’m new to WordPress, I’m learning this tool at the same time and still exploring all the nifty widgets. I quickly figured out how to add links on my Sidebar, so go there as a starting point for QA resources and communities.  I know there are plenty of others, so add your favorites to the comments section of this post. I added an RSS feed, too, so if you are a QA Manager or Professional, please subscribe and come back often as I’m hoping to make this blog into a place for sharing useful information.

I checked into certifications as well, but being unemployed, I’m not ready to shell out too much cash until I do some more checking into the reputation of the various offerings.  In the mean time, there’s enough material available, that I could easily read and blog daily about QA Management as well as continue to network with experts.

So much to read. So much to learn. So many people to meet! I hope you’ll be one of them.

Comments»

1. Amaury - March 15, 2014

Hi Yvette, i have read this post as a result of searching more information and connections to the world of software quality assurance, i’m glad there are more people interested in this topic, hope we can make this search easier as we, as a community, post more usefull information.


Leave a Reply

